Moving Forward with Something to Say.

So, after giving it some thought, (and because I’m taking a break from sermon writing) I think I know where I want this blog to go.

Actually, it’s two directions. One comes from what I’m doing now, and the other from where I’m eventually headed here in the coming year.

As you may know from checking out my “about me” page, I coach wrestling at Augsburg College. One of the biggest challenges – and greatest joys – of coaching working with the mental, emotional, and even spiritual, side of the sport. Often times, the battles my athletes, and most athletes face, are not ones of improving technique or execution. Rather, it’s the battle of the heart and mind: the vulnerability and courage to succeed and fail.

So that’s number one. This season, as things come up with my athletes, and with me as coach, I will be writing on those experiences – the intersection of where faith in God and wrestling meet. In short, directed towards athletes, but for all who face similar battles.

And, as I conclude my seminary education and work towards becoming a fully ordained pastor in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), I also will write about a subject that’s near and dear to hearts and minds of me and my classmates: Being a new pastoral leader in the church. I’ve blogged on the subject a few times, but I want to do spend more time on it because I think something’s missing from the conversation.

So that’s number two. And well, I’m looking forward to this little venture….and I hope you’ll join me along the way!

Leave a comment

Filed under Wrestling Devotions & Reflections

Leave a Reply

