Giving Thanks….Keeping Things in Perspective

I had this great conversation this past week with an old wrestling training partner and friend. We caught up on what’s going on in our busy lives – coaching, family, dealing with the reality of physical limitations as we get older, and reflecting on what it means to be a life-giving person.

Anyway, I asked him about his little daughter and how she was, and he said this (at least to the best of my memory): “You know what? Having my daughter is awesome. Being a parent is so hard man, and you know, it puts everything in perspective.”

Amen, brother…..wise words indeed. My friend hit it on the head: there are things and people in life, things and people we need, that put things in perspective for us. Remind us of how hard and difficult managing life can be, but also reminding us what’s precious and valuable about it.

So this Thanksgiving, I give thanks for things that put things in perspective. And I hope you do too. I’ll list of a few of mine, I’d love to hear yours.

– A God revealed in Jesus Christ who extends daily mercies and grace through his presence every day.
– My wife, who I get to wake up next to and come home to every day.
– Friends who push my thinking that allows me to be honest with myself.
– The many youth and young adults who have endured tragedy and hardship much more difficult than mine, and with more courage and faith than I have.

Happy Thanksgiving to all, and thanks to all of you who take time to read my thoughts. Thanks be to God!

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership

One response to “Giving Thanks….Keeping Things in Perspective

  1. Betsy

    I am thankful to have you for our vicar and a friend, and for introducing us to Kelly!

Leave a Reply

