From the Mat: Weekend Word (29 January 2015)

Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be your name.  Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread.  And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.  And do not bring us to the time of trial, but deliver us from the evil one. ~Matthew 6:9-13

You probably recognize this passage: it’s the Lord’s Prayer, the most well-known of all prayers in the Christian faith.  In a time where the number of people who don’t know a lot about the Christian faith, the Lord’s Prayer is still pretty widely known among the general population.
We used to pray the Lord’s Prayer before every wrestling meet back in high school.  I came from a small farming town in Minnesota, so back then it was an acceptable practice.  Every guy on the team would pray it, whether they were serious about their faith or not.
Prayer for me is creating the space for God to become present with us in our lives.  We ask for God’s presence because in the end, we need and rely on his presence in all things.  We don’t pray so much asking God to grant us things or to ask for a particular outcome; God doesn’t work like that.  But we should pray for God’s presence in our lives, in particular and real ways, because that is our real need: for God to be with us.  And we know that God promises us that; and from that we gather strength.
I think that’s why I liked praying the Lord’s Prayer back in HS, and why I still like to now in my life.  I need to know I don’t face this life alone.  So I pray….inviting God to be present with me in the moment and also praying in the company of others who have the same need for God as well.  And from that, I truly gain strength.
So, pray away!
I write these these weekend devotionals for the Old Dominion University Wrestling team, currently ranked #18 in NCAA Division I.  
Leave a comment

Filed under Wrestling Devotions & Reflections

Leave a Reply

