Monday Morning Preacher: “Lord’s Prayer”

In the spirit of the Monday Morning Quarterback – the commentary after the week of football games – I’ve decided to do a similar series, something to help live out the text in the week ahead.  I think it’s worth a try….because I know if I asked, you probably couldn’t remember what yesterday’s sermon was about. : )

Text: Matthew 6:7-21

So let’s talk about the Lord’s Prayer….you could certainly pray the whole thing, every day this week.  But let’s be honest: you probably don’t have time for that, and then there’s the whole relevancy thing….what parts of it are relevant for you this week?  That’s why I suggest breaking up the petitions of the Lord’s Prayer into “mini-prayers” of your own that will guide your prayer life this week:

1.  Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be your name.  Hey, maybe you just want to give thanks to God for just being God in your life.  Nothing wrong with that prayer!

2.  Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Maybe you’re one of those who watches the news, or you notice the same things on your drive home.  Maybe there are things that just simply bother you…..the sick, the elderly, children going hungry and exploited, homeless, unemployed.  You probably think: that’s not how God wants it to work.  So pray for God’s kingdom to come here, now.  Pray for what we can do as church to participate with God in making the Kingdom of God known in our daily lives, in the lives of people who need it to come.

3. Give us today our daily bread.  Somedays I wonder how I’m going to make it through the day.  So maybe I need to pray for that.  And then there’s people who actually wonder where their next meal is coming from….maybe I need to pray for them.

4. And forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us.  This one is a bit more of a conviction for me: because if God forgives my sins the way I forgive (or don’t) forgive others, then I’m screwed.  Or maybe I know how God deals with me, and perhaps I need to change how I forgive.  That’s a hard prayer…but a good one, I think.

5.  Save us from the time of trial, but deliver us from evil.  God saves.  If God doesn’t do that, save me from my selfish self, then what the heck do I need God for?  But I do need saving.  And since I know so often I can’t save myself….perhaps I need God to.

6. For the kingdom, the power, and the glory are yours, now and forever. Amen. Kinda ties into #5.  I’m not the center of the universe, nor is any human thing.  God is.  Thankfully, we have a God of Grace at the center.  Can I get an “Amen!”

Be sure to share your ideas and reflections on this in the comments page!  Curious to see how you’re praying and living out the Lord’s Prayer this week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sermons & Preaching

Leave a Reply

