Weekend Word (2/19)

Good luck this weekend, last of the regular season!  I don’t have anything profound for you, as we’re trying to get up to northern VA for the state tournament this weekend.  I do have this for you: “I rejoice in the Lord greatly that now at last you have revived your concern for me; indeed, you were concerned for me, but had not opportunity to show it.  Not that I am referring to being in need; for I have learned to be content with whatever I have.  I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty.  IN any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well-fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ~Phil. 4:10-13
 
I’m sure at the end of the season, concerns are there – your own, coaches, parents, etc.  Perhaps putting aside those concerns and remembering the simply truth of that last statement: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Be content in who you are as a person and a wrestler, both strengths and weaknesses, and maybe the strength of Christ free you to be that person and wrestler!
I write these devotionals for the Old Dominion University Wrestling Team.  They are currently ranked #17 in NCAA Division I.
Leave a comment

Filed under Wrestling Devotions & Reflections

Leave a Reply

