Weekend Word (3/5): “A Song of Quiet Trust”

“O Lord, my heart is not lifted up, my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me.  But I have calmed and quieted my soul……O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time on and forevermore.” ~Psalm 131:1-2a; 3)

The title of this Psalm in my bible is “Song of Quiet Trust.”  I might rename it the “Song of Pre-Tournament & Match preparation.”  I remember getting pretty amped up before important competition…..the lights, the crowd, the atmosphere, knowing what’s at stake.  I’d both thrive and get paralyzed by it at the same time.
This psalm calls us to trust and hope in God…..because God and our relationship with him is so much bigger than moments like end of season tournaments.  The looming competition doesn’t seem so large in the face of the role God plays in our lives.  We don’t get caught up in all the “too great and marvelous things” we cannot control, but rather find a quiet, yet strong confidence to do the task in front of us: the next takedown; the next escape or reversal; winning the whistle on top and getting that riding time built up….score the next point.
May you find that quiet strength and resolve in God for the weekend ahead…..and in your life beyond it.
I write these devotions for the Old Dominion University Wrestling Team, currently ranked #17 in the nation in NCAA Division I.
Leave a comment

Filed under Wrestling Devotions & Reflections

Leave a Reply

